2018 Bowtie Classic

More than $31,000 raised for La Crosse public schools at 2018 Bowtie Classic



After a delay due to early morning rain, the 2018 Bowtie Classic teed off with 112 golfers — a record number — on what turned into a beautiful day for golf.

A record number of golfers helped turn the sixth Charlie Miller Bowtie Classic Golf Outing and Knowledge Open into a record fundraiser for the La Crosse Public Education Foundation. More than $31,000 was raised after expenses as 112 golfers teed off on Saturday, Sept. 1 despite a start that was delayed two hours by early morning rain.

Our 2018 presenting sponsor was Dalco, a leading source of cleaning supplies for the School District of La Crosse.

Charlie Miller Photo Small

Dr. Charles Miller III

Jeanie Everson, daughter of Dr. Charles Miller III, and her husband Fred ran a chip-shot contest as part of the 2018 Bowtie Classic.

The Bowtie Classic recognizes and honors Dr. Charles Miller III, a co-founder of LPEF and a longtime member of the Board of Education in La Crosse. Dr. Miller was a surgeon at Gundersen Health System. He died unexpectedly while playing racquetball in May 2011. His family was represented again at this year’s event by daughter Jeanie Everson. The Miller family provides sponsorship money to allow student teams to golf in the Bowtie Classic.

Teams compete not just on golf skills in the scramble format. The event includes a unique feature: the Knowledge Open Challenge. At various holes on the course, questions are asked by National Honor Society students. Each event foursome, as a team, answers the questions during its round of play. Teams’ final scores are based on their golf game as well as their performance on the quiz.

Teams play for the benefit of schools in the School District of La Crosse, with the first-place team winning a $500 grant for a school. Second prize was $250. Third prize was $125 and the highest-scoring team also won $125 for a school. Awards were sponsored by Waste Management, which also provided support to discount registration fees for school teams, and for a student foursome.

A foursome from Lincoln Middle School won for the second consecutive year, winning $500 for their school. Second-place and third-place teams were both playing on behalf of North Woods International Elementary School, winning $375 for the school. The last-place team was from Southern Bluffs Elementary School, winning $125.

Here are the winning foursomes:

1st place foursome of Eric Check, Travis Check, Chester Janke and Adam Peterson – won $500 for Lincoln Middle School.

2nd place foursome of Brent Wilkerson, Todd Peterson, Colin Peterson and Kevin Hooper – won $250 for North Woods International School.

3rd place team of Rob Tyser, Randy Paine, Mike DeYoe and Greg Balfany (not pictured) – won $125 for North Woods International.

Last place team of Lisa Schreiner, Derek Fuglsang, Michelle Powell and Denise Shedivy – won $125 for Southern Bluffs Elementary.

Photos of the foursomes are courtesy of Julie Nelson.

The 2018 Bowtie Classic was presented by Dalco.

Other major sponsors included: Marine Credit UnionFestival FoodsWaste Management, Coulee Region Mechanical, LHI and the Weber Family Foundation, Coulee Bank, Mathy Construction, Complete Control, DeBoer Pest Control, GO Riteway, HSR Associates, Lifetouch, and the La Crosse Tribune.

Toyota of La Crosse provided a car that players had a chance to win on the 7th hole with a hole-in-one. Unfortunately, no one holed their tee shot.

One lucky golfer had the opportunity to win a new 2018 Toyota Camry LE  (courtesy of Toyota of La Crosse) by hitting a hole in one on Hole No. 7 during the event.

A special thank you to the family of Dr. Charles Miller III, including Susan Miller, Jeanie Everson, Chuck Miller IV and Heather Marie Miller and their families for continuing support and sponsoring student golfers at today’s event


  • Kaplan Professional Education
  • McCabe Roofing
  • Thompson Animal Medical Center


  • GECU, the Friendly Credit Union
  • Five Star Telecom
  • Gundersen Health System
  • Masters Building Solutions
  • These major sponsors also received recognition as Quiz Sponsors: Dalco, Marine Credit Union, Festival Foods, Waste Management, Coulee Region Mechanical, LHI, Coulee Bank, Mathy Construction, Complete Control, DeBoer Pest Control, GO Riteway, HSR Associates, Lifetouch, and Toyota of La Crosse.


  • Ken French
  • Mark Glendenning & Margie Webster
  • Troy & Megan Harcey (2)
  • Jerry & Nan Kember
  • JFK Associates/Fred and Janet Kusch
  • Jeff Meyer
  • Randy & Lynn Nelson
  • Tim Padesky & Tara Johnson
  • Barb Schultz
  • Tom & Judy Sleik
  • Roland & Janeane Solberg
  • Judy & Dick Swantz
  • Tom & Jean Thompson
  • Stephen & Katherine Webster
  • Associated Benefits & Risk Consulting
  • Benefit Plan Administrators/3P Administrators
  • The Board Store
  • Bray Architects
  • Brickl Brothers
  • Citizens State Bank
  • EO Johnson
  • Firefighters Credit Union
  • First Supply
  • Hale, Skemp, Hanson, Skemp & Sleik
  • Johnson Controls
  • Klich Electric
  • La Crosse Area Retired Educators’ Association
  • La Crosse Education Association
  • La Crosse Glass (2)
  • Prairie Farms Dairy
  • Reinhart Foodservice (2)
  • Ron Hammes Refrigeration
  • Skyward (2)
  • Tri-State Carpets (2)
  • US Bank
  • UW-L Foundation
  • Western Technical College
  • WKBT News 8

Raffle prizes: Forest Hills Golf Course; Pischke Motors; Kendell Doors; DALCO; Brandon Prinsen of Johns, Flaherty & Collins; Logan and Central high school activities departments; Fred Kusch; Troy McDonald; Scott Mihalovic; Angi Strangman; Randy and Lynn Nelson; Jay and Barb Nick; Green Bay Packers; Minnesota Twins; Minnesota Vikings; Midwest TV & Appliance

Hole contest prizes provided by: David Reay’s; Dublin Square; Famous Dave’s; Java Vino; Northland Golf; Optical Fashions; Outback Steakhouse; Schmidty’s; 4 Sisters; and Tammy Larson

Water provided by: Gillette Pepsi-Cola Bottling of La Crosse; and Cari Mathwig Ramseier

Special thanks to Central and Logan National Honor Society students for helping with the Knowledge Open.

Bowtie Classic Chairman: Superintendent Randy Nelson. Planning committee: Dick Swantz, Jerry Kember, Ken French, Joe Ledvina, Tammy Larson, Shawn Dutchin, Keith Stoll, Steve Hole, Fred Kusch, David Stoeffler