Link to regular Thank  Your Teacher page

Honor District retirees with a gift to support our schools

Download a flyer and donation form to honor a retiree.



The La Crosse Public Education Foundation (LPEF) is pleased to join with the School District of La Crosse in saluting retiring teachers and other staff members. See a detailed list below.

With support from our Salute to Educators Sponsor Fowler & Hammer, LPEF will help to underwrite the cost of the District Retirement Dinner scheduled for later this year, and also partner with the La Crosse Tribune to publicly recognize retiring employees in a full-page ad to be published in mid-May.

Former students, colleagues and friends looking for a way to honor and recognize these people for their dedicated service to education may want to consider a gift to LPEF. We’ve created a special recognition program to encourage these types of lasting gifts.

  • For each gift of $35 or more, we’ll provide the retiring staff member with a complimentary ticket (limit 4) to our Grants Award Luncheon set for Jan. 19, 2021.
  • The retiree honored with the greatest number of gifts (by June 30, 2020) will be recognized at the Grants Award Luncheon – and a classroom or staff development grant will be awarded in his/her name.

For information and form to submit your gift, download our special flyer.


Retirees, most recent position and years of service to the School District of La Crosse

Janice Adams, teacher, Summit Environmental School, 28 years

James Barrett, custodian, Central High, 14 years (retired March 31)

Denice Barrett, teacher assistant, Summit Environmental School, 30 years

Joseph Blaschke, custodian, Logan High, 42 years

Sandra Brauer, principal, North Woods International School, 21 years

Kraig Brownell, teacher, Logan High, 27 years

Barbara Clark, executive assistant, Hogan Administrative Center, 18 years (retired Sept. 30, 2019)

Michael Copsey, custodian, State Road Elementary, 26 years (retired Jan. 13)

Jeffrey Dagendesh, custodian, North Woods International School, 21 years (retired Feb. 4)

Christopher Devine, building engineer, Logan High, 39 years (retired Jan. 3)

Debbi Roh Faga, teacher, Southern Bluffs Elementary, 29 years

Timothy Fitzpatrick, warehouse technician, District, 36 years (retired Nov. 30, 2019)

Daniel Foegen, lead groundskeeper, District, 10 years (retired Feb. 24)

Susan Greening, administrative assistant, Central High, 29 years (retired Dec. 31, 2019)

Lyn Halvorson, school nutrition supervisor, District, 23 years

Cheryl Helmreich, teacher, Southern Bluffs Elementary, 28 years

Tami Hillestad, instructional coach, District, 30 years

James Konichek, teacher, Logan High, 36 years

Denise Kuethe-Strudthoff, library media specialist, Logan High, 8 years

Karen Landstrom, teacher, Hintgen Elementary, 21 years

Cynthia Leiran-Monroe, teacher, Logan High, 22 years

Martin Maus, teacher, Summit Environmental School, 35 years

Robert McCarthy, teacher, Logan Middle, 21 years

Michelle Meier, cook, Logan Middle, 24 years

Barbara Mikshowsky, accounting administrative assistant, District, 27 years (retired Oct. 31, 2019)

Mark Nelson, building engineer, Southern Bluffs, 36 years (retired Aug. 6, 2019)

Randy Nelson, superintendent, District, 12 years

Donna Oedsma-Lamke, teacher, Logan Middle, 29 years

Emmanuel Oke, teacher assistant, North Woods International School, 13 years

Robert Prise, custodian, Logan High, 38 years (retired Dec. 31, 2019)

Michelle Rank, nurse, District, 20 years

David Rudolph, Board of Education, 12 years

Kelly Schultz, assistant nutrition manager, Southern Bluffs, 39 years

Merri Shupe, teacher, Northside Elementary, 31 years

Neuman Stegen Jr., building engineer, Lincoln Middle, 33 years (retired March 6)

Lorrae Swartz, teacher, Logan Middle, 25 years

Connie Troyanek, Board of Education, 24 years

Kathleen Wilhelmy, teacher, State Road Elementary, 14 years

Teresa Zahn, cook, Logan High, 20 years