Teacher Excellence

The La Crosse Public Education Foundation is committed to supporting Teacher Excellence through staff development grants, classroom grants, academic excellence awards and other programs.

Former Superintendent of Schools Richard Swantz

Former Superintendent of Schools Richard Swantz

Each year, teachers are encouraged to apply for funding to support teacher training. The Richard Swantz Endowment Fund, named for the former superintendent of schools and one of LPEF’s founders, fosters teacher excellence by funding a grant each year in the area of staff development. Additional funds also may be available, depending on need.

For more information: Grant Guidelines, Instructions and Application

Recent Teacher Excellence grants and other awards include:

  • $1,969.48 to provide training to select teachers at Hintgen and Southern Bluffs elementary to promote learning readiness and academic success for kindergarten students. This grant was underwritten by support from the Richard Swantz Endowment Fund. Recipients: Melissa Breuer and Laurie Kartman from Southern Bluffs; PaHoua Vang and Barbara Oettel from Hintgen.
  • $500 to support training for Summit Elementary School staff to maximize use of new iPads being used in classrooms.
  • $250 each to Kevin Colburn of Central High School and Eric Martin of Logan High School, recipients of the teacher recognition awards during the Board of Education’s 2014 Academic Achievement Awards ceremony.