2017 Bowtie Classic

2017 Bowtie Classic raises more than $27,000 for LPEF grants, other programs

Presented by


Other major sponsors


Ryan Ledvina putts while Clint Selle (left) and Joe Ledvina and Jerry Ball look on during the 2017 Bowtie Classic. Granddad Bluff provides a nice background to the beautiful Forest Hills Golf Course.

The fifth Charlie Miller Bowtie Classic Golf Outing and Knowledge Open teed off on Saturday, Sept. 2 with 91 golfers at Forest Hills Golf Club. The event — which is the largest annual fundraiser in support of classroom grants and other programs of the La Crosse Public Education Foundation — raised more than $27,000 after expenses.

Our 2017 presenting sponsor was the GO Riteway Transportation Group, which is celebrating its 60th year in business. The event was held as GO Riteway began its second year as the District’s busing provider.

Charlie Miller Photo Small

Dr. Charles Miller III

The event recognizes and honors Dr. Charles Miller III, a co-founder of LPEF and a longtime member of the Board of Education in La Crosse. Dr. Miller was a surgeon at Gundersen Health System. He died unexpectedly while playing racquetball in May 2011. Susan Miller and daughter Jeanie Everson and family were on hand to help again with this year’s event. The Miller family provides sponsorship money to allow student teams to golf in the Bowtie Classic.

Teams compete not just on golf skills in the scramble format. The event includes a unique feature: the Knowledge Open Challenge. At various holes on the course, questions are asked by National Honor Society students. Each event foursome, as a team, answers the questions during its round of play. Teams’ final scores are based on their golf game as well as their performance on the quiz.

Teams play for the benefit of schools in the School District of La Crosse, with the first-place team winning a $500 grant for a school. Second prize was $250. Third prize was $125 and the highest-scoring team also won $125 for a school. Awards were sponsored by Fowler & Hammer, which also provided support to discount registration fees for school teams, and for student foursomes.

Lincoln Middle School was awarded $625 from its first-place and last-place teams, and will use the money to buy new equipment, including balls, for students to use on the playground. Hintgen Elementary School will use its $250 prize to purchase multi-sensory materials for students to use in the Universal Sensory Room. North Woods International School applied the $125 prize toward purchase of a new rug for a kindergarten room.

Here are the winning foursomes:

The 1st Place winning team: Adam Peterson, Eric Check, Chester Janke, and Travis Check. With a combined golf and Knowledge Open score of 47, this team won a $500 grant for Lincoln Middle School. PHOTO by Nick Marcou

2nd place team of Evan Lamb, Adam Wershofen, Matt Haese, Cletus Hoehn. This Festival Foods team won a $250 grant for Hintgen Elementary School. PHOTO by Nick Marcou

3rd Place team of Alex Powell, Steve Berg, Doug Zumach, Greg Rediske. This Festival Foods team won $125 for North Woods Elementary School. PHOTO by Nick Marcou

A Boys & Girls Club foursome of Cole Parrins, Cecilia Compan, Jake Brown and Floyd Thomas won $125 for Lincoln Middle School by finishing with the highest team score. PHOTO by Nick Marcou

The 2017 Bowtie Classic was presented by GO Riteway.

Other major sponsors included: Marine Credit UnionFestival FoodsLHI and the Weber Family Foundation, Bray Architects, Lifetouch, Mathy Construction, Coulee Bank, and the La Crosse Tribune.

Golfers took a shot at a hole in one on No. 7 in hopes of winning a new 2016 Honda Civic EX Sedan  (courtesy of Honda Motorwerks).

One lucky golfer had the opportunity to win a new 2016 Honda Civic EX Sedan  (courtesy of Honda Motorwerks) by hitting a hole in one on Hole No. 7 during the event.

A special thank you to the family of Dr. Charles Miller III, including Susan Miller, Jeanie Everson, Chuck Miller IV and Heather Marie Miller and their families for continuing support and sponsoring student golfers at today’s event

Also, special thanks to Nick Marcou, District Community Outreach Coordinator, for taking photos at the Bowtie Classic.

  • Complete Control
  • Kaplan Professional Education
  • La Crosse Glass
  • Market & Johnson
  • McCabe Roofing
  • US Bank
  • Waste Management

Other Hole Sponsors

  • Ken French
  • Mark Glendenning & Margie Webster
  • Troy & Megan Harcey
  • Jerry & Nan Kember
  • Randy & Lynn Nelson
  • Tim Padesky & Tara Johnson
  • Barb Schultz
  • Tom & Judy Sleik
  • Roland & Janeane Solberg
  • Judy & Dick Swantz
  • Jean, Tom & Holli Thompson
  • 3P Administrators
  • Associated Benefits & Risk Consulting
  • The Board Store
  • Brickl Brothers
  • CenturyLink
  • Coulee Region Mechanical
  • Clason Buick GMC
  • Dahl Ford
  • DeBoer Pest Control
  • EO Johnson (2)
  • Firefighters Credit Union
  • Five Star Telecom
  • GECU
  • Gundersen Health System
  • Hale, Skemp, Hanson, Skemp & Sleik
  • HSR Associates
  • Johnson Controls
  • Klich Electric
  • La Crosse Area Retired Educators’ Association
  • La Crosse Education Association
  • Lackore Electric Motor Repair
  • Pan-O-Gold Baking
  • Prairie Farms Dairy
  • Reinhart Foodservice (2)
  • Ron Hammes Refrigeration
  • Skyward (2)
  • Toyota of La Crosse
  • UW-L Foundation
  • Western Technical College
  • Wettstein’s
  • WKBT News 8

Raffle prizes: Forest Hills Golf Course; DALCO; Judge Scott Horne; Fred Kusch; Brandon Prinsen of Johns, Flaherty & Collins; Green Bay Packers; Minnesota Vikings; Minnesota Twins; Milwaukee Brewers; Troy McDonald; Angela Strangman; Wettstein’s; Dick’s Sporting Goods; and Midwest TV & Appliance.

Hole contest prizes provided by: Dublin Square; Famous Dave’s; Northland Golf; Schmidty’s; 4 Sisters; Java Vino; and Tammy Larson.

Water provided by: Gillette Pepsi-Cola Bottling of La Crosse

Special thanks to Central and Logan National Honor Society students for helping with the Knowledge Open.

Bowtie Classic Chairman: Superintendent Randy Nelson. Planning committee: Dick Swantz, Jerry Kember, Ken French, Tammy Larson, Shawn Dutchin, Keith Stoll, Steve Hole, Fred Kusch, David Stoeffler